Research Digital Materials

Exhibition and Talk

11.May - 23.Juni 2019

Bezugsstoffe (Cover Fabrics)

In the exhibition Bezugsstoffe (Cover Fabrics) the participating artists examine textiles for their qualities as visual and haptic indicators of changes in art, culture, society and technology. Seven positions are presented in installations and objects, questioning familiar notions of the use, production, expansion and representation of textile carriers of meaning.

Participating artists: Veronika Aumann, Sabrina Bosshard / Stefanie Kägi, Nadine Göpfert, Ebba Fransén Waldhör / Marei Rei, Adriana Quaiser / Theresa Kanz, Selina Reiterer und Christine Katscher / Ronja Svaneborg

Talk: Veronika Aumann: Self Active Materials, 6.June 2019, 7pm

Link to exhibition

 

Research Textile Prototyping Lab

Fair / Exhibition

14.-17.5.2019

TPL @ Techtextil

At Techtextil 2019 DXM research project Textile Prototyping Lab is showing one of their latest developments for Stefan Diez’ PLUSMINUS lighting system for Vibia: a light rail formed of a soft, conductive textile belt that can incorporate a variety of bulbs for different lighting effects. The functionality of the belt and a variety of weaving designs were developed by TPL.

Research Digital Materials

PhD project

khb x PhDArts

With her practice-based research project Digital Materials, Veronika Aumann is accepted as PhD candidate at the PhDArts program in January 2019. PhDArts is an international doctoral program in art and design at the Leiden University Academy of Creative and Performing Arts and the Royal Academy of Art (KABK) in The Hague.

www.phdarts.eu

Research Textile Prototyping Lab

Exhibition

16.3.-30.6.2019

Neue Textile Welten

Exhibition at Wasserschloss Klaffenbach

The exhibition „Neue Textile Welten“ at Wasserschloss Klaffenbach is showing the „potentials of technical and intelligent textiles + smart materials“. Together with works by e.g. Bauerfeind AG, KARL MAYER Technische Textilien GmbH, warmX GmbH, Norafin Industries GmbH, Sächsisches Textilforschungsinstitut e.V. (STFI), Textilforschungsinstitut Thüringen Vogtland e.V. Greiz (TITV e.G.), TU Chemnitz and Design Research Lab der UdK Berlin weißensee kunsthochschule berlin and DXM are presenting five student projects and the research projects ‘Textile Prototyping Lab’ and ‘Digitale Materialien’.

https://www.c3-chemnitz.de/de/Wasserschloss-Klaffenbach-Gestaltung-Handwerk-Ausstellungen_1323.html

Research Smart Tools For Smart Design (ST4SD)

Show, Tell & Make

14. & 15. July 2018

Rundgang 2018

For the “Rundgang 2018”, the annual summer exhibition, the visitors were guided “hands-on” through the exhibition in the research space and informed about the different research projects. The visitors were able to experience and understand self-forming 3D textiles, experiments on shape-change materials and surfaces with reactive structures. The visitors were also able to get directly involved in textile prototyping at the Jacquard loom or body-learning at the nine stops of the fitness trail Shape Change Aerobic.

Research Digital Materials

Exhibition

20.-28.10.2018, Eindhoven, NL

Beyond Material @ Dutch Design Week 2018

The series Autorials, a part of the research project Digital Materials by Veronika Aumann was exhibited at the Dutch Design Week in October 2018 as part of the presentation of the design collective Beyond Material.
Autorials is a series on (fictitious) responsive materials that can change shape, colour, volume, structure and transparency. By investigating various material explorations and their conversion into garments, possible future interaction figures between human, machine and material are sketched. The red example is titled Liquid Light. Depending on the physical movement (shaking) of the material, the liquid inside intensifies its coloured luminosity. The silver one is titled Malloon. Malloon is a material-machine that can automatically changes its shape and volume through inflating and deflating.

www.beyondmaterial.net

Research smart materials satellites

Lecture and Publication

16. - 18.11.2018

smart materials satellites at Conference Matters of Communication

Lecture Julia Wolf (DXM) and Lilo Viehweg (Bauhaus Dessau Foundation) at the conference of the German Society for Design Theory and Research, HfG Karlsruhe Material als Experiment – Transdisciplinary Science Communication with the Methods of Design – What contribution can design methods make to the translation of complex, technology-based knowledge and what role do they play in the discourse on current material developments?

The accompanying publication with a paper by J. Wolf and L. Viehweg will be published in autumn 2019.

http://conference2018.dgtf.de

Education sensing materials lab at Long Night of Museums in Berlin

Workshops and Exhibition

25.08.2018

sensing materials lab at Long Night of Museums in Berlin

As part of the smart materials satellites research project, four workshops on Hearing, Feeling, Smelling, Tasting Material were held at Werkbundarchiv – Museum of Things in Berlin in cooperation with the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation. Lead: Julia Wolf (DXM), Lilo Viehweg (Bauhaus Dessau Foundation)

https://www.museumderdinge.org/events-education/sensing-materials-lab

Education smart materials satellites at Zurich University of the Arts

Workshop and Exhibition

26.08. - 30.09.2018

smart materials satellites at Zurich University of the Arts

In cooperation with the Department of Interaction Design of the Zurich University of the Arts (Clemens Winkler, Luke Franzke), the Material Archive ZHdK (Franziska Müller-Reissmann) and the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation (Lilo Viehweg), a workshop and exhibition on the subject of materials of the future was held together with students. As part of the ZHdK Highlights, “Material as Experiment | Past Present Future” was shown, including student works from weißensee.

https://www.zhdk.ch/highlights

Forschung Textile Prototyping Lab

Ausstellung

06. & 07. Juli 2019

Rundgang 2019

Zum Rundgang der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin stellt auch der Forschungsbereich DXM seine Aktivitäten in einer Ausstellung im Foyer vor.
Samstag + Sonntag 12 – 20h
Bühringstraße 20, 13086 Berlin

Forschung Digitale Materialien

Ausstellung und Vortrag

11. Mai - 23. Juni 2019

Bezugsstoffe

In der Ausstellung Bezugsstoffe untersuchen die beteiligten Künstlerinnen Textilien auf ihre Qualitäten als visuelle und haptische Gradmesser für Veränderungen in Kunst, Kultur, Gesellschaft und Technik. Sieben Positionen werden in Installationen und Objekten vorgeführt und hinterfragen gewohnte Vorstellungen von Einsatz, Herstellung, Erweiterung und Darstellung von textilen Bedeutungsträgern.

Beteiligte Künstlerinnen: Veronika Aumann, Sabrina Bosshard / Stefanie Kägi, Nadine Göpfert, Ebba Fransén Waldhör / Marei Rei, Adriana Quaiser / Theresa Kanz, Selina Reiterer und Christine Katscher / Ronja Svaneborg

Vortrag: Selbsttätige Materialien, Veronika Aumann, 9. Juni 2019, 19:00 Uhr

Link zum Programm

 

Forschung Textile Prototyping Lab

Messe / Ausstellung

14.-17.5.2019

TPL @ Techtextil

Das DXM Forschungsvorhaben Textile Prototyping Lab präsentiert auf der Techtextil 2019 im Rahmen der Innovation Roadshow  eine der neuesten Entwicklungen für Stefan Diez’ PLUSMINUS-Beleuchtungssystem für Vibia: eine Lichtschiene aus einem weichen, leitfähigen Textilgurt, der mit einer Vielzahl von Leuchtelementen für unterschiedliche Lichteffekte bestückt werden kann. Die Funktionalität des Gurts und unterschiedliche Webdesigns wurden im TPL entwickelt.

Forschung Digitale Materialien

PhD Projekt

khb x PhDArts

Mit ihrem gestalterischen Forschungsprojekt Digitale Materialien ist Veronika Aumann seit Januar 2019 als Doktorandin beim Programm PhDArts aufgenommen. PhDArts ist ein internationales und entwurfsgeleitetes Doktoratsprogramm in Kunst und Design an der Leiden University Academy of Creative and Performing Arts und der Royal Academy of Art (KABK) in Den Haag.

www.phdarts.eu

Forschung Textile Prototyping Lab

Ausstellung

16.3.-30.6.2019

Neue Textile Welten

Ausstellung im Wasserschloss Klaffenbach

Am Sonnabend eröffnet in Chemnitz die Ausstellung Neue Textile Welten im Wasserschloss Klaffenbach zum Thema Potenziale technischer, intelligenter Textilien + smart materials. Zusammen mit namhaften Vertretern aus der Industrie und Forschung wie Bauerfeind AG, KARL MAYER Technische Textilien GmbH, warmX GmbH, Norafin Industries GmbH, Sächsisches Textilforschungsinstitut e.V. (STFI), Textilforschungsinstitut Thüringen-Vogtland e.V. (TITV Greiz), TU Chemnitz und Design Research Lab der UdK Berlin ist die Kunsthochschule mit fünf studentischen Arbeiten und den Forschungsprojekten Textile Prototyping Lab und Digitale Materialien beteiligt.

https://www.c3-chemnitz.de/de/Wasserschloss-Klaffenbach-Gestaltung-Handwerk-Ausstellungen_1323.html

Lehre Forschung Living Surface

Workshop und Vorträge

Oktober 2018

DXM am Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology

Zwei Forscherinnen wurden nach Beijing eingeladen, um einen Workshop mit Studieren des Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology zum Thema Living Surfaces zu geben. Im Rahmen des 14th Science Art Fashion Festival wurden Vorträge über die Forschung an der weißensee kunsthochschule berlin gehalten.

Forschung Textile Prototyping Lab

Show, Tell & Make

14. & 15. Juli 2018

Rundgang 2018

Zum Rundgang 2018 wurde “Hands-On” durch die Ausstellung in den Forschungsräumen geführt und über die verschiedenen Forschungsvorhaben informiert. Bestaunt und  begriffen werden konnten u.a. selbstformende 3D-Textilien, Experimente zu formveränderbaren Materialien und Oberflächen mit reaktiven Strukturen. Selbst aktiv werden konnten die Besuchenden beim textilem Prototyping am Jacquard-Webstuhl und bei den neun Stationen des Trimm-Dich-Pfads Shape Change Aerobic.

Forschung Digitale Materialien

Ausstellung

20.-28.10.2018, Eindhoven, NL

Beyond Material @ Dutch Design Week 2018

Die Serie Autorialien des Forschungsprojekts Digitale Materialien von Veronika Aumann wurde im Oktober 2018 im Rahmen des Auftritts des Designkollektivs Beyond Material auf der Dutch Design Week ausgestellt.
Autorialien ist eine Serie zu (fiktive) reaktiven Materialien, die Form, Farbe, Volumen, Struktur und Transparenz verändern können. Durch die Untersuchung verschiedener Materialerkundungen und deren Realisierung in Kleidungsstücken werden mögliche zukünftige Interaktionsfiguren zwischen Mensch, Maschine und Material skizziert. Das rote Beispiel heißt Liquid Light. Abhängig von einer physischen Bewegung (Schütteln) des Materials verstärkt die Flüssigkeit im Inneren ihre farbige Leuchtkraft. Die silberne Arbeit trägt den Titel Malloon. Malloon ist eine Materialmaschine, die durch Aufblasen und Entlüften automatisch ihre Form und ihr Volumen verändern kann.

www.beyondmaterial.net

Forschung smart materials satellites

Vortrag und Publikation

16. - 18.11.2018

„smart materials satellites“ auf der Tagung „Matters of Communication“

Vortrag Julia Wolf (DXM) und Lilo Viehweg (Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau) auf der Tagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Designtheorie und Forschung, HfG Karlsruhe Material als Experiment – Transdisziplinäre Vermittlungsforschung mit den Methoden des Designs – Welchen Beitrag können die Methoden der Gestaltung leisten, um komplexes, technologiebasiertes Wissen zu übersetzen und welche Rolle spielen sie im Diskurs um aktuelle Materialentwicklungen?

Die Begleitpublikation erscheint im Herbst 2019.

http://conference2018.dgtf.de

Lehre Forschung sensing materials lab bei der Langen Nacht der Museen in Berlin

Workshops und Ausstellung

25.08.2018

„sensing materials lab“ bei der Langen Nacht der Museen in Berlin

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts smart materials satellites wurden in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau vier Workshops zu Material hören, fühlen, riechen, schmecken im Werkbundarchiv – Museum der Dinge in Berlin durchgeführt. Leitung: Julia Wolf (DXM), Lilo Viehweg (Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau)

https://www.museumderdinge.de/veranstaltungen/lange-nacht-der-museen-2018

Lehre Forschung smart materials satellites an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste

Workshop und Ausstellung

26.08. - 30.09.2018

smart materials satellites an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste

In einer Kooperation mit dem Department Interaction Design der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (Clemens Winkler, Luke Franzke), dem Material Archiv ZHdK (Franziska Müller-Reissmann) sowie der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau (Lilo Viehweg) wurde gemeinsam mit Studierenden ein Workshop mit Ausstellung zum Thema Materialien der Zukunft durchgeführt. Im Rahmen der ZHdK Highlights wurde Material als Experiment | Vergangenheit Gegenwart Zukunft, u.a. mit Studierendenarbeiten aus weißensee gezeigt.

https://www.zhdk.ch/highlights